National Institute of Technology (ITN) Malang started from the National Engineering Academy (ATN) Malang which was founded by the Malang National Education and Technology Foundation in 1969 with 2 Departments, namely Mechanical Engineering and Civil Engineering, and in 1980 opened new majors including: Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Textile Engineering, and Architecture. With the consideration of providing education up to undergraduate level (S-1), in 1981, ATN Malang was developed into ITN Malang with the decision of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 0104/0/1983 which was accepted in 1983 consisted of 2 faculties, namely the Faculty of Industrial Engineering (FTI) and the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Planning (FTSP). FTI oversees the majors/study programs at S-1 level: Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Textile Engineering, and D-III levels: Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Industrial Engineering. Meanwhile, FTSP supervises the majors/study programs for the S-1 level: Civil Engineering and Architecture, for the D-III level: Civil Engineering.

ITN Malang occupied a campus area of ​​4 hectares on Jalan Bendungan Sigura-gura No. 2. With the increasing number of ITN Malang students, efforts to develop facilities and infrastructure to support the learning process continue to be carried out. In 1998 ITN built Campus II which was designed as an integrated campus which occupies an area of ​​35 hectares of the 65 hectares owned by ITN Malang. In 2000 Campus II was used and occupied by the Department/Study program of Mechanical Engineering S1, Electrical Engineering S-1, Industrial Engineering S1, Textile Technology S1, and Electrical Engineering D-III.

In 1982 ITN Malang reopened a new department/study program, for FTI provided a department/study program for Sugar Engineering, while at FTSP it provided a department/study program for Water Engineering, Planology, and Geodetic. Based on the needs of Bachelor of Engineering in Indonesia from various fields of expertise, in 1985 ITN Malang provided a new department/study program, namely the department/study program of S-1 Electrical Engineering under FTI, and Department/study program of Environmental Engineering under FTSP.

In 1985 ITN Malang succeeded in graduating for the first time with a Bachelor’s degree in Engineer consisting of 6 people from the Mechanical Engineering Department and 8 people from the Civil Engineering Department, while the first graduates of the Master of Engineering Postgraduate Program in 2002 consisted of 4 graduates from Industrial Management and 1 graduate from Construction Management.

In 2000, ITN Malang opened the Postgraduate Program (S2) Master of Engineering based on the Decree of the Director General of Higher Education (Dirjen DIKTI) No. 75/Dikti/Kep/2000 with two study programs, namely the Industrial Engineering Study Program with the Industrial Management concentration and the Civil Engineering Study Program with the Construction Management concentration.

Thus, until 2004, ITN Malang has organized education at Postgraduate Program (S-2) level with 2 (two) Study Programs, namely; Industrial Management Study Program and Construction Management Study Program. At undergraduate level (S-1) and Diploma Three (D-III) with two faculties, namely; The Faculty of Industrial Engineering (FTI) covers 10 majors/study programs, including; Mechanical Engineering S1, Electrical Engineering S1, Industrial Engineering S1, Chemical Engineering S1, Textile Engineering S1, Sugar and Food Engineering S1, Electrical Engineering S-1, Mechanical Engineering D III, Electrical Engineering D III and Industrial Engineering D III. Meanwhile, the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Planning (FTSP) covers 8 majors/study programs, they are Civil Engineering S1, Architecture S1, Water Engineering S1, Planology S1, Geodetics S1, Environmental Engineering S1, Civil Engineering D III and Geodetics D III.

Considering the great interest of the public studying in the field of informatics, in 2008 ITN Malang provided a bachelor’s degree for Informatics department/study program, while the Computer and Informatics concentration in the Electrical Engineering department/program was changed into a Computer Engineering concentration. In addition, in connection with the decline in public interest in studying in the Geodetics Department/study program D-III, in 2008 it was closed.

In 2009 the Department of Electrical Engineering provided a concentration in Telecommunication Engineering.

The number of ITN Malang students until 2022 reached 5115 students from various provinces throughout Indonesia and Timor Leste, while graduates or alumni of ITN Malang had reached 30.000 people, and they have worked in government, private, and industrial institutions.

The development plan of the National Institute of Technology (ITN) Malang refers to the revised 2002 – 2012 Strategic Plan (RENSTRA) based on the 2003 – 2010 HELTS DIKTI and the principles of Good University Governance (GUG). The short, medium and long term development plans of ITN Malang are derived from the Vision, Mission, and Strategic Plan which are described in the road map of ITN Malang, namely: Phase 1 (2005 – 2010) Capacity Building and Modernization, Phase II (2010 – 2010). 2015) Strengthening Excellent Service for Achieving National Competitiveness, Phase III (2015 2020) Achieving Regional Competitiveness, and Phase IV (2020 – 2025) Achieving Global Competitiveness and achieving Entitlement/Word Class University. Each phase has a coherent relationship with one another, so that success in one phase is largely determined by the performance of the previous phase.

In achieving Phase IV targets and continuing in the next phase, at the end of every semester activity, ITN Malang always monitors and evaluates the performance of each work unit, so that the basic principles that are the current reference (Phase IV) will be realized in accordance with plan.